Executive Order News & Resources

On Friday, January 27, the new administration issued an executive order that restricts entry (and reentry), into the U.S. for citizens and nationals of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen on non-immigrant visas.

On Monday, March 6, the administration issued a revision to the January 27 executive order. Citizens from the affected countries — Iran, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen, Syria and Libya — would be subject to a 90-day ban on travel to the United States. In a change from the January order, Iraqi nationals were no longer subject to restricted travel to the US. The revised order also called for a 120-day suspension of the refugee program. The revised executive order would have gone into effect on March 16, 2017.

On March 15, a federal judge in Hawaii issued a nationwide temporary restraining order blocking the six-nation travel/visa ban and suspension of refugee processing announced in the March 6 executive order. On March 29, the same judge granted a motion to transform the temporary restraining order into a preliminary injunction, meaning that the executive order will remain blocked throughout the litigation process in Hawaii.

The Harvard International Office (HIO) has created an FAQ regarding the travel ban, available here.